Runway Gen-4.5
Vendor-sourced facts
| Fact | Value |
|---|---|
| Vendor | Runway [1] |
| Licence | Proprietary (API/app only) [1] |
| Licence detail | API and hosted apps only; available across all paid Runway plans [1] |
| Modes | Text-to-video, Image-to-video, Video edit [1] |
| Release | 2025-12-01 [1] |
| Max resolution | Not stated [1] |
| Max clip duration | Not stated [1] |
| Native audio | Not stated [1] |
| Access | API, web app, mobile app [1] |
| Vendor page | https://runway.com/research/introducing-runway-gen-4.5 [1] |
Arena rating: no votes yet. Nothing on this page is a score, a rank or a measurement by us — every value is what Runway publishes, with the page it came from listed under Sources.
Not listed on the Design Arena video board (checked 2026-10-21).[2]
About Runway Gen-4.5
Runway Gen-4.5 is the December 2025 model that Runway still lists as its current video model, available through the API and the hosted apps on every paid plan. [1] There is no Gen-5: claims of a successor have no announcement behind them, and we list what the vendor's own research index says.
This is the sparsest row in the catalogue, and deliberately so. Runway's announcement page does not state a maximum resolution, a maximum clip length or whether audio is generated natively, so all three cells read Not stated. The vendor does make a ranking claim of its own — a top position on a third-party text-to-video benchmark — which is their claim on their page, not a measurement this arena has made.
“Gen-4.5 currently holds the top position in the Artificial Analysis Text to Video benchmark, surpassing all other models.”
Runway on Runway Gen-4.5 [1]
Want hands-on context before trusting anyone's ranking? Generate your own clips with a multi-model workflow on AIContentDrop: automate your test generations · start on the AIContentDrop home page.
Sources
- Runway — Runway Gen-4.5, vendor documentation https://runway.com/research/introducing-runway-gen-4.5 — checked 2026-10-06
- Design Arena — video leaderboard https://www.designarena.ai/leaderboard/video — checked 2026-10-21
Each [n] above is the vendor page the fact beside the marker was read from, on the date shown. Where a vendor states nothing, the table says “Not stated” and no value is inferred from anywhere else.